The Man by the Trash Can

The other day I was pulling into a parking lot of a WaWa in South Philadelphia. When I got out of my car there was an African-American man sitting by the trash can begging for change and food. Usually I mutter all sorts of colorful obscenities under my breath, as the City of Brotherly love is overrun by “beggars” that have all kinds of sob stories that I less than give a shit about. This man was different. He wasn’t rude like other “beggars” using non-typical words such as please and thank you. As I gazed upon him I could see that his face was withered and worn with a look of pure desperation in his eyes. I could actually see the “sadness” that followed him around like a little black rain cloud.

As I am in the store getting myself some iced tea I kept wondering what the man’s story was. What was it that brought him sitting outside a WaWa in hopes that a good samaritan would do something kind for him?

Instead of having my usually shitty attitude regarding this matter; I decided to make a small difference in the man’s day. I grabbed a few iced teas, some soft pretzels and a pre-made sandwich from the case.

As I handed the bag to the man he gazed a me in shock. He explained that I was the first person in a long time that went out of their way and actually gave him something to eat out of the kindness of their heart.

I said “My pleasure; I hope you enjoy it. Have a nice day, and hope things start coming up sunshine for you.”

Driving away my eyes filled with tears thinking of the man, and the kind words he said to me.

Leave a Reply

